skype facebook twitter

Kathmandu & Bhaktapur - 5Days

Laser Travel - Treasury of Kathmandu and Bhaktapur - 5DaysThe “Treasure of Kathmandu and Bhaktapur” holiday package is designed to explore and learn the culture of Nepal, its arts, nature, histo...

Culture & Jungle Safari -8Days

Laser Travel - Culture Tours and Jungle Safari in Nepal— 8DaysThe Nepal Culture Tours and Jungle Safari is most famous Holiday package for the family travelling with children or customers those want to ...

Cairo and Alexandria - 5 Days

Laser Travel - Cairo and Alexandria - 5 Days

Cairo, Egypt has always been attracting travelers. Cairo is one of the world's largest urban areas and offers many sites to visit. It is ...

Bookmark and Share

About Nepal

Nepal is a landlocked country which lies in South Asia. It has border to the People's Republic of China in the north and India in the south, east and west. Nepal holds distinct status of being the only official Hindu state, with over eighty percent of the Nepalese as Hindus. On 18th May,2006, Nepal was declared a secular state. On December 28, 2007, the interim government declared Nepal a Federal Democratic Republic, on its way to abolishing the monarchy. The newly-elected Assembly met in Kathmandu on May 28, 2008, and, after a polling of 564 constituent Assembly members, 560 voted to end Nepal's 240 years old monarchy, with the monarchist Rastriya Prajatantra Party, which had four members in the assembly, registering a dissent note. At that point, it was declared that Nepal had become a secular and inclusive democratic republic with the government announcing a three days long public holiday from 28 May to 30 May 2008. For a relatively small country, the Nepal's landscape is uncommonly diverse, ranging from the humid Tarai in the south to the lofty Himalayas in the north. Nepal boasts eight of the world's ten highest mountains, including Mount Everest. Kathmandu is the capital and the largest city of Nepal. After a long and rich history, during which the region has splintered and coalesced under a variety of absolute rulers, Nepal became a constitutional monarchy in 1990. In the month of December 2007 the parliament voted to abolish the monarchy in Nepal. Nepal is divided into 14 zones and 75 districts, grouped into 5 development regions.

14 Zones

1. Bagmati 8. Lumbini
2. Bheri 9. Mahakali
3. Dhawalagiri 10. Mechi
4. Gandaki 11. Narayani
5. Janakpur 12. Rapti
6. Karnali 13. Sagarmatha
7. Koshi 14. Seti

5 Development Regions

Nepal is divided into 14 administrative zones (अञ्चल), which are divided into 75 districts (जिल्ला). The 14 administrative zones are grouped into five development regions (विकास क्षेत्र). Each district is headed by a chief district officer (or CDO) responsible for maintaining law and order and coordinating the work of field agencies of the various government ministries.

The development regions of Nepal are:

  • Eastern Region (Purwanchal), capital Dhankuta.
  • Central Region (Madhyamanchal), capital Kathmandu.
  • Western Region (Pashchimanchal), Capital Pokhara.
  • Mid-Western Region (Madhya Pashchimanchal), capital Birendranagar.
  • Far-Western Region (Sudur Pashchimanchal), capital Dipayal.